Tags

, , , ,

I have started the Everyday Matters Challenges.  I know lots of bloggers who have started on this journal and I wanted to join in on the fun!  I LOVE drawing.  I always have.  However, I dislike my own drawing.  I am working thru dealing with proportion and using cleaner lines. From EDM yahoo group “Everyday Matters is a friendly community designed to encourage members to expand their creativity. Our main focus is on drawing and creating illustrated journals but we welcome creative people from all disciplines. Our group includes members of all degrees of ability and experience — from total novices to professional illustrators, artists, and teachers.”  I like this. I like the idea of taking everyday objects and drawing them.  I plan on using this as a daily exercise.  I set my timer this morning and sketched Challenge #1 for 15 minutes.

EDM Challenge #1 Tidbits and Type

EDM Challenge #1 Tidbits and Type

It isn’t anything amazing or even good.  But it did get my juices flowing this morning and besides coffee not much else does at 7am!

Everyday Matters drawing challenges came about from the book “Everyday Matters” and the artist, Danny Gregory. He has a blog and has a very active group on Facebook.  If you are interested, you can find the list of challenges here.

*___*___*___*___*___*

Upcycled Vintage Journal/Sketchbook by Halo and Meme

Upcycled Vintage Journal/Sketchbook by Halo and Meme

And a fun little find.  My journal that I use for zentangling, doodling and for storing my EDM challenges is from a good friend and talented artist, Aimee Bishop.  She makes these great little paper journals from upcycled papers and upcycled vintage book covers!  Total LOVE!  You can find her blog here and her shop, here!

